The green light was given for the Block V version of the Tomahawk cruise missile, which entered the US Armed Forces inventory in 1983 and continues to be used with various improvements until today.

See Also. “HAVELSAN developed a troubleshooting simulator for F-16s”

You may be interested in

HAVELSAN developed a troubleshooting simulator for F-16s

The institution, which has reached an agreement with Raytheon Rocket & Defense company, the developer of the missile, will enable the missile to serve for at least another 15 years. Block IV Tomahawks, which can carry both conventional and nuclear warheads, but the second alternative is no longer used, are currently being used by the US and British Navy. The US navy, which has added a more advanced version of Block IV to its inventory, has had much more advanced navigation and communication systems in the new missile. With Blok V, Tomahawk cruise missiles will have a multi-mode guidance system. In this way, it is stated that the missiles can also lock the moving sea targets.

Block V Tomahawks, whose flight tests were completed in December 2020, and the old generation Block III missiles will be retired. Block IV Tomahawks will be promoted to Block V.

Tomahawks, which can be thrown from sea to land, from submarine to land, from land to land and from sea to sea, fly at subsonic speed (890 km / h). The average range of the missile is 1,600 km. You can take a look at the video of the test firing of Blok V missiles below.


This news, our mobile app using to download,
You can read whenever you want (even offline):

Download DH Android App
Download DH iOS App

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *